Baylor recognizes undergraduate research award recipients in 11th annual URSA Scholars Week

April 10, 2019
News - URSA Awards

Contact: Whitney Richter, Director of Marketing and Communications, Office of the Vice Provost for Research, 254-710-7539
Written by: Blake Thomas, Office of the Vice Provost for Research

WACO, Texas (April 10, 2019) –  The Undergraduate Research and Scholarly Achievement (URSA) steering committee has announced the 2019 recipients of the URSA Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Research. The awards are presented annually in recognition of outstanding student research, excellence in mentorship and visionary leadership.

Nathan Elkins, Ph.D., and Tamarah Adair, Ph.D., director and co-director of URSA, respectively, presented the awards at an honorary luncheon which marked the culmination of URSA Scholars Week, the annual celebration of undergraduate research at Baylor.

From among more than 400 students who participated in Scholars Week, 48 undergraduates representing 15 academic disciplines earned recognition for their platform presentations or poster sessions, as well as two faculty members who were named URSA Mentors of the Year and four more faculty who received URSA Excellence in Leadership Awards.

A full list of award winners and photos from the week are available on the URSA website.  Posters from award-winning projects will also be on display in the first floor lobby of Moody Library from Thursday, April 11 through Tuesday, April 16.

Please join URSA and the Office of the Vice Provost for Research in congratulating all the award winners for all of their hard work in support of undergraduate research at Baylor.